Sign Me Up

Elkhorn athletes signed letters of intent Nov. 10.


Dane Petersen

Sydney Raszler, Taylor Bunjer and Hannah Fast celebrate signing day with their teammates and coach. All three seniors will play volleyball collegiately.

Signed, sealed, delivered. National signing day brought Elkhorn’s student-athletes to the gymnasium to take the last step in making their future official. Eight students from the class of 2022 officially signed their commitment to collegiate institutions to further their athletic and academic careers. This was the first year the ceremony was made to be a large public event. In previous years, the signings were done in the counceling center, conference room, or in the lecture hall.

“With this being my first year I just kind of looked around and asked myself ‘What can I do to make this occasion a little bigger,'” first-year activities director, Sara Fjell said. “We hosted it in the gym this year. It was really nice seeing teammates and friends be able to come and support their peers.”

People in attendance wore clothing sporting the names and logos of the colleges the athletes are committing to. Many also brought balloons and other decorations.

“I’m excited because I get to play softball for four more years and get to stay close to home,” senior Ella Dalton said. “It was great being able to sign in front of my family and teammates.”

Senior baseball player Ben Ayala made his committment to Creighton official. “I committed to Creighton for baseball in the summer between my sophomore and junior year,” Ayala said. “My coaches family and friends helped me with the decicion to commit to Creighton.”

Fjell said she was happy that the event went smoothly and looks forward to hosting another one in the spring. Spring signing day beings April 13, 2022.

Athletes signing letters of intent by sport:


  • Ella Dalton; University of Omaha Nebraska
  • Izzy Pagan; Midland University


  • Taylor Bunjer; Wayne State
  • Hannah Fast; Midland University
  • Sydney Raszler; Rockhurst University


  • Ben Ayala; Creighton University
  • Blake Stanley; Wayne State
  • Chase Smith; Northeast Community College


Print this entry